



Kevin R. Burns Mayor, City of Geneva Executive Board Chairman

Nancy R. Rotering Mayor, City of Highland Park Executive Board 2nd Vice Chair

John D. Noak Mayor, Village of Romeoville Executive Board Secretary Brandon Johnson Mayor, City of Chicago Executive Board, 1st Vice Chair

Jeffrey T. Sherwin Mayor, City of Northlake Executive Board Treasurer

Mark R. Kownick Mayor, Village of Cary Immediate Past Executive Chairman

Workshop Agenda

Grants for Climate and Energy Planning May 21, 2024, 2-3:30 p.m. Via Zoom

- 1. **Opening Comments** *Edith Makra*, *Director of Environmental Initiatives, Metropolitan Mayors Caucus*
- 2. Brief Introduction to the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Office of Energy John DeRosa, Manager, Illinois EPA Office of Energy
- 3. Overview of Energy Efficiency Conservation Block Grant (EECBG) Program for Energy Planning Adena Rivas, Energy Projects Coordinator, Illinois EPA Office of Energy
- 4. Participation From Workshop Attendees Strategies to Help Communities Apply
- 5. **Closing Edith Makra**, Director of Environmental Initiatives, Metropolitan Mayors Caucus

Next month's Environment and Energy Committee meeting: Environmental Justice Thriving Communities Technical Assistance Centers (EJ TCTACs) and U.S. EPA Community Change Grants, June 18, 9:30-11 a.m., virtual

<u>GRC</u> goal and strategies: MO3: Leverage state grants and resources to advance sustainability. Use energy for buildings and facilities efficiently. E+11: Budget and plan for long-term energy efficiency equipment upgrades.

<u>Climate Action Plan</u>: Demonstrate leadership to reduce emissions. Optimize building energy.